RSS Feed

In which I am a shameless idea-pimp.

Tom Nawrocki at Debris Slide recently put up one of those ingenious pop-trivia posts that always starts me to saying, “Oooh! What about this one? And this one?”

In this case, Tom’s presented a list of the Top Ten Supporting Characters in Pop Hits of the Seventies, ranging from the night man in “Hotel California” to the truck driver in “Me and Bobby McGee.” Take a second and go check it out — I’ll be here when you get back.

Once my brain started in on this subject, it wouldn’t stop, as is usually the case. Rather than clog Tom’s comment box with my own list along the same lines, I’ll just post it here.

Feel free to come up with your own; I’m sure there are plenty more:

1.  The friend in town who’s heard your name in “Rikki Don’t Lose That Number.”

2.  The policeman who knew Roger Daltrey’s name in “Who Are You.”

3. Reverend Smith, who recognized Alice Cooper (and punched him in the nose) in “No More Mr. Nice Guy.”

4. The next-door neighbor with a daughter had a favor in “Walk This Way.”

5. The city councilman takin’ bribes on the side in “Serve Somebody.”

6. The man selling ice cream, singing (pseudo-)Italian songs, in “Saturday In The Park.”

7. Tim Bass, who makes $2.50 an hour pumping gas in John Stewart’s “Gold.”

8. Uncle Ernie and Auntie Gin in “Let ‘Em In.”

9.  The sheriff (Edit: No, he’s a detective) who makes his living off other people’s taxes in “Take The Money And Run.”

10. The sheriff in “I Shot The Sheriff.”

6 responses »

  1. Two things: 1. I always think of the cop in “Who You Are.” Brilliant
    2. I actually have an Uncle Ernie, and “Let ‘Em In” is kind of his theme song. Much better than the Who’s “Uncle Ernie,” to be sure.

    Reply
    • When Uncle Ernie comes over, do you ever just let him keep ringin’ the bell for a couple minutes, just as a really inside joke?

      I notice I left off another “character” that I totally meant to put on the list, but he slipped my mind while I was typing:
      The brother back at home with his Beatles and his Stones in “All The Young Dudes.”

      Reply
      • The jailer man and the mysteriously deputized Sailor Sam from “Band on the Run” were one of the last cuts from my list. BTW, doesn’t the policeman know Roger Daltrey’s name?

  2. Yes, it would make more sense to say Daltrey.

    And a fellow Twitter user (I am guessing he read this post; or, he just happened to mention the song as a cosmic coincidence) reminds me that the lawman in “Take The Money And Run” is a detective, not a sheriff.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

