RSS Feed

The last ride.

Posted on

Repurposed from Twitter, more or less, with additional content.

Someone in the town where I live owns a nice early-’70s Pontiac Bonneville sedan. (I suppose it might be a Catalina, but I don’t think so.)

It’s a big ol’ barge in the classic Detroit tradition, dark blue in color, roughly ninety-five feet from stem to stern, and neither showroom-perfect nor beaten up … just used, reliably and reasonably humanely, for a good 40 years.

I see it around town fairly regularly.

Tonight, while out for my run, I saw it getting hauled away backwards by a tow truck, its side lights burning to prevent someone from missing its bulky form in the dark and ramming it like the Stockholm plowing into the Andrea Doria.

On the spur of the moment, I slowed down and saluted it as it rolled away, just in case it was the Last Ride.

What can I say? It seemed like a kindred gesture.

(I too am oversized and increasingly obsolete. And starting in the morning ain’t getting any easier for me either.)

Which brings me to tonight’s musical selection.

Those of you who read my manifestos against oversinging will wonder why I put up with this guy. His being a hot guitar player, a great songwriter and a performer of stubborn individuality makes up for a host of sins, I suppose.

(Including those pants.)

2 responses »

  1. EricaTyson2012

    Nicely written. You just hit it and quit it there. I enjoyed the video, too. He’s really trying to give it to you; there’s nothing wrong with that at all. I think like I’d like some of his music. I get the sense he has some pretty soulful musical influences.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

