RSS Feed

One foot in front of the other.

Posted on

Absolutely nothing worth writing about right now, except that I ran a local 5K on St. Patrick’s Day for at least the third year in a row, and maybe the fourth.

This particular race is festive and well-organized, and it’s become the ceremonial beginning to each year’s racing season, which can include anywhere from two to seven races depending on how competitive I feel and how injured I get.

(This could be a comparatively busy year if I stay healthy; I feel like gearing up for a couple more races. I might do another one in a month’s time on one of the local rail trails. This particular race is small, low-key and deliciously flat, all of which I appreciate.)

The weather at the St. Patrick’s race this year was considerably colder than last, and the final half-mile pulled down my pants and taunted me.

But I managed to beat last year’s time by something like 15 seconds, and finish something like 25 spots ahead of last year as well.

I was gonna wait and see if I could swipe a picture of myself running to go with this post. But the photog who usually takes pictures hasn’t put his shots up, if he was there at all. I’ve never seen a picture of myself running that looked good, anyway, so it’s probably just as well.

I continue to run every other day as a hedge against injury and to keep myself fresh. Tonight we are getting 2 to 3 inches of snow and sleet in the Lehigh Valley. It is my off-night, since I raced yesterday.

Tomorrow, when I am due to run again, the snow and slush should be out of the way.

That sort of encapsulates how things have been going on the running front: The breaks seem to be going my way. I will take a moment and savor that.

2 responses »

  1. EricaTyson2012

    You’re so good, the way you keep up with your running. It’s motivating.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

