RSS Feed

Back.

Posted on

For those three of you who watch me regularly, good news: I am back from a four-day trip to Toronto, with stops in Niagara Falls and Rochester along the way.

I was not on the Internet once the entire time (except for the very start and the very end, which I spent at my folks’ place in Rochester). I have to admit, I didn’t miss it all that much.

Random pop-cultural drivel:

– We maintained our family car-trip tradition by playing Ace Frehley’s “New York Groove” any time we passed into New York state.

– We heralded our arrival in Canada with Rush’s “Freewill.” Had I thought more about it in advance, I would have preferred either “YYZ” or something by Nuck demigods the Tragically Hip.

– We watched Canada Day festivities on the toob, the way one would watch the Boston Pops on July 4. The performers, led by singing astronaut Chris Hadfield and Carly Rae Jepsen, were universally underwhelming.

– I saw Neil Peart’s drum kit at the Hockey Hall of Fame and stood silent in the presence of awesomeness.

– I ate all the Tim Hortons I could stand, and once again, stood silent in the presence of awesomeness.

I’m sure I’ll think of more to report at some point, but for now, I’m ready to go back.

Leave a Reply

