RSS Feed

Not hurrying into anything.

In December 2012, I wrote a post about Todd Rundgren’s intention to release a new record, and my intention to see him perform if his subsequent tour came to my area.

Took me almost three years, but I finally bought a ticket to go see him again.

He happens to be coming to a theater in the northern Philly suburbs in mid-December, on a Sunday night before I take a week off from work.

(He’ll be coming with the same band I saw him with in 2011, not with the EDM-oriented show he toured with earlier this year. Though, honestly, I would probably have gone to see the EDM show if that’s what was on offer.)

And, I happened to discover the presale code for tickets left online by the theater management. So I went ahead and bought a ticket. They would have gone on public sale tomorrow at noon anyway, but I saw no need to wait that long if I didn’t have to.

I’d been holding out for him to come to the Lehigh Valley again, especially now that we have a bunch of nice new performance venues. Hasn’t happened, though. Rundgren’s legendary stubbornness seems to have trumped mine, and if he won’t come in my direction, I’ll drive an hour south to go to his.

This show (assuming nothing stops me from attending) also will elevate Rundgren alongside Neil Young, Bob Dylan and maybe B.B. King as artists I have seen three times.

Given that he continues to tour regularly, and continues to play smaller markets (or the outskirts of larger ones), Rundgren seems to have a better shot than the other (living) members of the Three-Show Club at reaching the never-ascended Four-Show Plateau. I won’t go to the big arena in Philly to see the other guys, but a smaller theater in the ‘burbs is another matter.

What happens if he reaches four shows, I don’t know … but Rundgren’s always game for new things, so maybe we’ll find out together in a year or two.

Of course, I’ve said that before.

2 responses »

  1. Hmm, I’ve seen Fishbone at least three times. Green Day twice, about 20 years apart. B.B. King at least twice. I don’t think I have anyone in the Four-Peat Club.

    Reply
  2. Late getting to this post, but I am a three-timer with Steely Dan (four if you count the Donald Fagen/Michael McDonald/Boz Scaggs Dukes of September outfit, which is backed by the Steely Dan band). Two timers include Emerson Lake and Palmer, Robert Palmer, REO Speedwagon, Mary Chapin Carpenter (who will go three-timer later this fall), and Rosanne Cash. And probably a couple of other obvious ones I can’t think of due to the relative lateness of the hour.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

